User Tag List

Like Tree2Likes
  • 2 Post By muggos0101

Thread: damaged stems

Banned
    Trading Score
    9 (100%)

OK, this may seem like a real dumb queston but i am a total newbie to gardening.

I have a sugar baby watermelon plant and while handling the stems ( i was looking through the leaves to try to find a flower bud that was not yet opened to see how far it was along ) but i think the stem to it broke off partially,just not all the way. Should i just pick off the stem?It's going to pain me to do it just because i have been pretty unsuccessful growing this year . I had strawberries but they ended up super tiny and there weren't any runners so wasn't sure why,maybe i didn't fertilize enough.

Also If I must,anybody know if it will take long to repair itself to going into a flower again?
    This thread is currently associated with: N/A
    Last edited by kris32; Sat, Jun 23rd, 2012 at 09:24 PM.

CaToonie
    Trading Score
    0 (0%)

Do you mean the main stem that's rooted into the soil or an offshoot branch from the main stem (ie. tree trunk vs tree branch?)
    If it's just a offshoot branch leave it and see if more regrow. Plants have a fascinating way of repairing themselves when we least expect it.

Don't worry about the strawberries either. I have a batch of 5 plants. 3 grew berries, the other 2 don't have runners at all. Sometimes strawberries can actually take another year to develop flowers.

If it makes you feel any better, you should see my sad excuse of a radish batch that came out of the ground earlier this month. All leaf, no bulb.

Banned
    Trading Score
    9 (100%)

It is a offshoot branch ( i think),it is branched out from the main 'leaves' because theres a seperate branch holding the flower i was awaiting,lol. Thank you for the advice! Didn't think they could really do that.