• 2 Post By lecale
  • 2 Post By 1cheapb*tch
  • 4 Post By debba1c
  • 1 Post By itsmewhoelse

Thread: Tips for a Novice Gardener?

CaNewbie
    Trading Score
    0 (0%)

So I've decided to try and grow some veggies this year but I have never grown anything in my life.

I have a very small yard that faces south and gets lots of sun, and I will be doing all my gardening in raised beds and containers. I've made a list of the veggies I like but I suspect that I'm better off trying my hand at a few before going crazy with the planting, especially since I'm really new at this.

I'm overwhelmed by all the varieties in seed catalogs. How the heck am I supposed to know which tomatoes or green beans or zucchinis to grow? It just feels like too much information. When I want green peppers or zucchinis I just go to the grocery store and buy them. Never even knew they were different types.

Any suggestions are appreciated.

Thanks,

Deb
    This thread is currently associated with: N/A
    BC Gal likes this.

Canadian Genius
    Trading Score
    51 (100%)

Last edited by lecale; Mon, Jan 19th, 2015 at 08:43 PM.

Senior Canuck
    Trading Score
    2 (100%)

As you are using raised beds and containers, I would suggest using the square foot gardening method. Sounds confusing when you read the instructions, but I found a youtube video that shows you how easy it is.
    I also found a great online vegetable garden planner (free 30 day trial, then 25 yearly membership fee) I used my email and then my hubbies for the first couple years but then I was missing out on some of the great features of the planner such as automatic crop rotation! so I finally bought the yearly membership. Did I mention its great!
    I actually made a post about this very subject last year around this time heres the link with all the above info and links in it too.
    http://forum.smartcanucks.ca/339220-...dening-canada/
    Start with growing veggies you like, happy gardening.