• 1 Post By idiotcanuck
  • 1 Post By idiotcanuck
  • 2 Post By Mulveyteach
  • 2 Post By idiotcanuck
  • 1 Post By bmaven
  • 3 Post By super807
  • 2 Post By lecale
  • 3 Post By ninna

Thread: Looking for info and deals on eye glasses?

Trading Score
    24 (100%)

I learned today that I need reading glasses and received a prescription for them but I am a total newbie when it comes to buying these things.

DH suggested I should just go to the dollar store but the problem is both eyes are vastly different in terms of what they need. The right eye is basically fine while the left one is totally not. lol. So a standard pair from the dollar store would offer the same strength in both eyes and that's not what I need. More than that though, if I am stuck wearing these things I want them to look good. MIL buys dollar store ones and I'm not a fan.

The optometrist was trying to sell me some in the office (of course!) and I was cynical about purchasing them on the spot in part because I want to have DH with me to tell me what looks good and in part because I don't know what a good deal is. I don't have benefits to cover this purchase so I want to be smart about what I do buy and get the best deal possible.

The optometrist was offering 2 pairs of them with frames, lenses for my prescription and 2 year guarantee for $300. I have no idea if this is a good deal or not.

What's a good price for glasses?

Where's a good place to buy them?

Does anyone know of any deals on right now or coupon codes etc?
    This thread is currently associated with: N/A
    "Be yourself. Everyone else is already taken." Oscar Widle

Trading Score
    0 (0%)

Clearly Contacts.ca usually has some cheap prices (way cheaper than any optometrist) and occasionally they come out with deals and sales. When I bought my first pair of glasses there for 60% less than the doctors office was selling them for, I also got a gift card to use on a second pair - completely free except for shipping.