User Tag List

ips
    Here's the background:

I recently bought a 1-year membership to a nearby gym. On June 28/07 to be precise. I paid $50 up front and the monthly membership fees for the first and last month. The total comes out to be about $120. It is not a privately owned gym and they have quite a few franchises in Ontario and Quebec. Since I am not paying a lot of money (compared to most other gyms) on a monthly basis, I wasn't expecting stellar customer service, but what I am receiving now from them cannot be even called a service. Forget good or bad.

Here's the problem:

The girl who signed me up seemed like an airhead. She couldn't properly answer any questions about the gym except for how much and how often I owe them money. I told myself, that's okay. I work in customer service myself and I know people can have a rough day here and there. I am generally very tolerant in such cases. No biggie. I just overlooked it. But it was just the beginning.

Since this is the first time I have joined a gym, I decided to get an appointment with one of the instructors who could help me with planning out my workouts, show me the proper use of the equipments, etc. I made my first appointment 4 days after signing up. I get to the gym from work, and the associate tells me that the trainer was sick and has gone home. I said that no one had called me to inform me about it (I had given them my cell and home number; nothing on either). The associate tells me that it was the trainer's responsibility and that no other trainer was available for help. No sorry, no apologies, no sympathies nothing. I worked out a bit and then left after making a new appointment for today.