User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Like Tree6Likes

Thread: Tips For Entering Blog Contests Article - Share your Tips!

Trading Score
    55 (100%)

I BORROWED THIS INFORMATION FROM A BLOG I FOLLOW
    credit to MSH blogger, aka Prophecy_Girl here at SC
    her blog post which I borrowed is located here: http://www.mysecrethome.com/2010/12/...-tips-for.html

Successful Blogging 101 - Tips For Entering Giveaways

I see these posts all over blogs, but there are still a great number of people who don't follow the rules properly. Lets all work together to make the blogging world as user-friendly as possible! Whether you are a blogger or a giveaway junkie, you might want to read this.

I have been entering contests for a couple of years now. I never had any luck with big company contests. The ones where they have 1 prize and thousands of entrants. Earlier this year, I discovered blog giveaways and after I won my first couple of prizes, I was hooked! It's great odds and great prizes. I have been pretty lucky with my prizes and I believe that it's because I set up an "entering system" for myself to make sure I follow all giveaway rules.

Here is what I learned from entering contests as well as hosting them.

Mandatory Entry

Always complete the mandatory entry first. Usually it will ask you to visit sponsor's website and comment with another item you would like to try. Unless the rules state that you will get what you select, you can put down any item off the website. Do not mention what has been already mentioned in the review. (Tip - I used to spend a lot of time selecting other items I like, now I quickly put down a random item and if I like the company, I bookmark them to check out later.)

Leave your e-mail address with every comment! To avoid spam you can use this format (only on Blogger blogs where comments are visible) - yourname at hotmail dot com.