User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Like Tree14Likes

Thread: I am afraid my job will kill me someday

Senior Canuck
    Trading Score
    7 (100%)

This is really kinda long,but I just have to get this off my chest,sorry.
    I've been working in a long term care facility for over 20 years,and had NO allergies when I started.
    After being assigned to care for "the Lavender Lady" every single dayshift I had for close to 2 years I began to choke and wheeze every time I went near the damn stuff.Antihistamines only helped a bit,and I tried my best to suck it up and just go on with my life.
    Well......now in the last 3 years I've developed multiple allergies to all sorts of fragrances,scented products,solvents,laundry soap etc.
    I was diagnosed with complex migraines over a year after a terrifying incident at work where my right side went numb,and I had weird cardiac involvement w/irregular heart rythms and fluctuating blood pressure.I was ambulance transferred to a hospital on the mainland and had an emergency angiogram after visting the ER.Heart is fine,slight murmur,normal otherwise.Two CT scans(no brain tumor or stroke),and several more episodes later I finally saw a neurologist who diagnosed me with complex migraines-they manifest themselves without much pain but all sorts of horrifying other symptoms-like having a combination heart attack/stroke and asthma attack.The allergies seem to trigger them.
    I take a migraine preventative prescribed by the neurologist,asprin for the headaches,a blood pressure pill(had a reaction to the first kind) to keep my B.P. stable during attacks and an antihistamine to control the allergy symptoms.
    I work in a supposed "scent free" facility,so why do I have to be AFRAID to go to work?