User Tag List

Page 20 of 61 FirstFirst ... 10 18 19 20 21 22 30 ... LastLast
Like Tree4745Likes

Thread: August Frugal chatter

Contradiction in progress sweet sparrow's Avatar
    Trading Score
    46 (100%)

Quote Originally Posted by blueeyetea View Post
    sweet sparrow, not that I'm an expert by any means, but I do remember reading in the Tightwad Gazette that the author would scrape the "solids" into the toilet, and throw the soiled diapers in a pail with water to soak. Then, when she did a load of laundry, she'd drained dirty water out of the the bucket and put everything in the washing machine.

Now, she was using the plain cloth diapers. You know the one that are a piece of cloth that you fold so many times depending on the size of the baby?

The only time I've bought diapers was when redeeming SDM points and buying supplies for the food bank. Those disposibles are expensive!
    Yes, we're doing that. We have the plain cloth diapers and we're hoping to borrow a few more from friends.

Disposables certainly are expensive! I haven't bought any myself yet. We got a free sample pack from the hospital, and a few more from being part of VIB at SDM. When we've worked through those, I may start to worry a bit. A dear friend gave me her extra size 1s and 2s and she is doing the same, cloth in the day and disposable at night or on outings.

I've had to do one load already on peak energy time just to have enough and also had to go through one day already of disposables because the cloth weren't dry at the time. If this keeps up, I'm wondering if the cost of washing the cloth will even out the cost of buying disposable. When LO grows out of the newborn size, we'll have a lot more cloth diapers borrowed, so it'll be much better.

Does anyone who's cloth diapered know how long it takes for a baby to grow out of the newborn size of cloth to the regular adjustable size?

Smart Canuck
    Trading Score
    55 (98%)

Quote Originally Posted by sweet sparrow View Post