User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Like Tree10Likes

Thread: *Car Insurance increase*

Trading Score
    85 (100%)

So, I recently received my car insurance renewal and it was increased by $286. Keep in mind that I do not have collision or comprehensive on my car.

They increased the "Liability" section "Bodily Injury" by $127. They also increased my Direct Compensation by $85. I am a young driver (w/ no tickets) so that does factor into but I can't figure out why it increased by almost $300. I'm going to call them next week (they're closed today), but I figured I would ask for some input beforehand. I havent' changed addresses or anything like that so it can't be that. I know insurance can increase but it seemed like a big jump to me? It's only $20 extra a month but $160 / month w/ no comprehensive or collision seems excessive to me. I've shopped around and they are still the cheapest by far. I'll be deleting this in a few days.

Also, am I correct in assuming that parking tickets don't count towards your insurance?
    This thread is currently associated with: N/A
    Shwa Girl likes this.

Trading Score
    7 (100%)

In Ontario, last year's car insurance increased for us. We went to the insurance broker and asked if we could switch companies. Like you, there was nothing on our record that should make it increase by $300. The insurance broker said it was happening to many people.

This year, it went down $300. I think it's a scam, IMHO.
    xox2010 and Candini like this.

Trading Score
    29 (100%)

No, parking tickets don't count.

Here in SK, in general our rates are generally really low since there is a government monopoly on insurance - but insurance has gone up here as well this year.
    They are trying to get older cars off the road, basically.

Trading Score
    85 (100%)

My car is only 5 years old so I don't think it's that old

Trading Score
    29 (100%)

Yeah, so it wouldn't be that...

Trading Score
    0 (0%)