User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Like Tree12Likes

Thread: RESP: Where is the best place to buy them? And how much per month etc.

CaNewbie
    Trading Score
    0 (50%)

I have 3 kids, 9, 4 and 2, I need to set up ASAP. As of right now i can only afford $200/kid/month

Please help. Any advice, big and small is greatly appreciated
    This thread is currently associated with: N/A

Canadian Guru
    Trading Score
    61 (100%)

$200 a month is more than I do. We just get them at the bank. There's going to be lots of folks here who will tell you not to buy them though. I'm no expert, so I will stay out of it!
    Shwa Girl likes this.

Trading Score
    7 (100%)

Quote Originally Posted by Zonny View Post
    There's going to be lots of folks here who will tell you not to buy them though.
    You are reading my mind, before I posted. I guess I am one of those folks
    Zonny and lucy16076 like this.

Contradiction in progress sweet sparrow's Avatar
    Trading Score
    46 (100%)

http://www.amazon.ca/RESP-Book-Regis...ords=resp+book

I found this book really helpful, and available free from my local library. $200/child/month is amazing. The maximum government grant per year is given if you contribute an amount equivalent to $208.33 (or $2500/year). If you can swing an extra $8.33/child/month you'd max out.

I definitely wouldn't contribute to group plans, but banks should be safe to start with.
    free_feels_good likes this.

Junior Canuck
    Trading Score
    194 (100%)

I went with an independent financial advisor and with his guidance we chose the stocks to invest in. We have one child and put $150 biweekly into a TFSA and then dump the $2500 into the RESP at renewal time to get the $500. Then we have the left over money in the TFSA for him to use when he goes to school, since I highly doubt the amount in the RESP will be enough. Our little guy is 5 months old and as soon as his SIN arrived we put the money in the RESP to ensure that we get the bonus.