User Tag List

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Like Tree43Likes

Thread: anyone know about tax returns?

Canadian Guru
    Trading Score
    46 (100%)

Quote Originally Posted by OgresWife View Post
    Thats pretty much what I figured once I stopped to think about it. I don't think enough taxes came off me last year (less than $1700 and I made just under $19000)

Sigh, I guess I should have dropped the money and gone into a place and claimed my eyecare bills. I only did the online free version so save a bit of $$. I appreciate that I did get a refund and don't owe, its just the first time I had seen one total and been given another and I've been filing for over ten years (4 of them by myself)

Chalk this one up to annoyance and learning curve I guess.
    Actually $ 1,700 is a lot on $ 19,000 . I know people making in the same range & have got almost all of it back

I don't know your DH's tax situation & how much he makes etc ..but you should have got a lot back if it was just you .

Your only in a 15 % Federal tax bracket ..plus there are lot of basic personal exemptions ..which would have brought your taxable income down from $ 19,000 to a lot less.

Right now they have charged you taxes on $ 19,000 but they should have charged you taxes on a lot less...with all the tax credits below.

Basic Personal Amount : $ 11,038
    Canada Employment Amt
    CPP contributions
    EI Contributions
    Medical Amt

etc etc
    Shwa Girl likes this.

Canadian Guru
    Trading Score
    46 (100%)

Quote Originally Posted by OgresWife View Post
    Thats pretty much what I figured once I stopped to think about it. I don't think enough taxes came off me last year (less than $1700 and I made just under $19000)