User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Like Tree33Likes

Thread: Whole Foods eating/cooking

Trading Score
    86 (100%)

Looking to chat with other people who follow a more whole foods diet. Where do you find savings on the items you buy? How do you live "frugally" on a whole foods diet?
    This thread is currently associated with: N/A
    Natalka and Shwa Girl like this.
    You just proved Signature Advertising works!

Earn FREE money just by searching! Ask me how to get a $5GC using my referral.
    Get $10 off $40 for new customers at well.ca using the code springhascome

CaLoonie
    Trading Score
    0 (0%)

I eat mostly a whole foods / clean diet due to some medical problems I have been battling for a few years. It is quite possible to eat frugally and well, while avoiding processed foods and cheaper packaged alternatives.

In a typical day my menu is something like this:

For breakfast I make steel cut oats mixed with hemp seeds and chia seeds all bought at the bulk barn with their coupons. I generally add one piece of fruit and some protein like all natural almond butter. I estimate that breakfast is usually around $1 to $1.25 depending on the fruit.

For lunch I generally have homemade hummus, two different veggies, organic yogurt or cottage cheese with nuts (pumpkin, almond or walnut)

Dinner is stir fry with a lot of different veggies and chicken, I also use a large variety of spices and herbs.

I eat very little bread and baked goods. If I do eat that kind of thing I tend to stick to wraps and naan bread with simplistic ingredients. I avoid most sugar with the exception of fruit which I have once or twice a day. Sugar avoidance is mostly for my medical reasons.