User Tag List

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Ciel

Thread: Retirement Communtiies in Toronto

CaNewbie
    Trading Score
    0 (0%)

Hello everyone,

I need some Real estate/home buying tips discussion here. I'm currently looking into getting a place for my mom and dad (65 and 69 respectively) in the GTA region. I stumbled upon this 'Christian Condo in Scarborough' only because they are deeply religious but I have some skepticism about it. Has anyone actually known someone who lives or resides in these type of residences and if so, what are your thuoghts on it. I'm also open to hearing about retirement communities in general as I'm a total noob in this subject. Thanks in advance!

Mary
    This thread is currently associated with: N/A

Trading Score
    12 (100%)

I don't have actual experience with retirement communities beyond what I read. In Hamilton, Ontaroi there are at least three retirement communities (that are religious) that offer lifelong leases on units (townhouses/apartments) that when the owners pass away, the units revert to the community with 10% of the sale price going back to the community as a donation. So the units are used by the current occupants during their lives or while they are capable of independent living (not sure how the transition is made if an occupant has to move into nursing home if unable to live independently) but the buildings are actually owned outright by the religious community/foundation/non-profit. Or there could be a clause that if the occupants live so many years in the complex, ownership of the unit transfers to them. You have to read the agreement.