• 1 Post By freefreefree
  • 3 Post By brunt
  • 1 Post By Darth Penguin
  • 1 Post By brunt
  • 2 Post By freefreefree

Thread: Question

Trading Score
    0 (0%)

Nobody I know seems to know the answer to this, so I hope you can answer my question.
    My question is if you are a Canadian working in the US and only have a green card, what happens when you retire?
    Do they kick you out of US after you retire? or?
    This thread is currently associated with: N/A
    dededi likes this.
    Free $175 CASH BONUS open Tangerine bank account $50=chequing, $25=savings, $100=savings program use 36121543S1as the'orange key' CAll1-888-826-4374 refer family/friends,$50 to you + $175 to them Earn up to $3,250 Visithttp://www.tangerine.ca/en/referafriend/index.html

tightwad and proud of it! brunt's Avatar
    Trading Score
    0 (0%)

Note - I am not a lawyer, but this is an issue near and dear to my heart. This is my opinion, and should not be taken blindly as fact. Please do your own due diligence.

The answer depends on the class of Green Card. Those under the "extraordinary ability" (typically high priced athletes, actors, singers and those of high academic standing) are not tied to an employer to allow residence. Other classes have their green cards tied to their employer. In short, you stop working for your sponsoring employer, then your Green Card goes too.

http://www.immihelp.com/greencard/em...-employer.html

My reading of this is that "extraordinary ability" holders would have no issues, but regular Green Card holders would not be allowed to stay in the US after retiring.

There are other options, of course. Remain part-time for your former employer in order to keep your status. Either that, or you could go to via one of the "retirement" based Green Cards:

http://www.breakthroughusa.com/b2-vi...ent-in-the-us/