User Tag List

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Like Tree34Likes

Thread: Loblaws throwing out good food!!

Trading Score
    26 (96%)

Many people have tried to sue larger companies for expired product. I used to manage a large pet supply store, we were instructed from head office to destroy any food related products by two days before expiry. When I say destroy it was DESTROY!! Rip dog food and cat food bags apart in the dumpster, keep the UPCs to write product off,make sure food is very scattered in the dumpster. Same went for small animal foods, treats etc.
    When I first started working there I didn't understand why, but being a manager I had to follow company policy, well after about 2 weeks of being there I soon understood why. I came to work at 6am to open store, there were some shifty looking people hanging around the dumpster. To make a long story short, one of the staff members didn't destroy some dog food good enough and a man tried to bring in the dog food claiming it made his dog ill and was going to sue the company, thank goodness for cameras, we proved that he got the food from the dumpster.
    So yes I can see why companies destroy and throw out items. Some people will take advantage of anything

Trading Score
    8 (100%)

It is a shame but I understand why the stores have to do that because of food safety rules.

I had some almonds that I'd been hanging onto too long but I just fired them into a 400* oven for 7 minutes and now they're toasted and delicious!

Trading Score
    173 (100%)

Yep, the shelter once helped someone out with some near expired stock they were donated, she came in crying she couldnt afford to feed her dog, then complained about the brand and tried to bring it back to the store for a refund (they had put the shelter's initials on the bags lol)
    Make an easy $20+ per month with Swagbucks - watch videos, search, play games & get paid!
    ~ ~ ~
    Save while shopping online with cashback from ebates