User Tag List

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Like Tree2Likes

Thread: where to pierce babies ears?

Trading Score
    37 (100%)

Quote Originally Posted by Katyana08 View Post
    Now does anyone know if they make completely non-toxic, washable stick on tattoos for babies because I would LOVE to scare my mom after a trip to the tattoo parlour! haha. Poor woman would faint to see her infant granddaughter with a barb wire arm band tattoo.
    oh man, that is hilarious

Boo Radley Conspirator roseofblack25's Avatar
    Trading Score
    4 (100%)

Quote Originally Posted by Monique.b View Post
    I spent a few years working for a company that specializes in piercing jewelry. I used to have some hardware myself I have an obscure opinion on this subject and I am sure a lot of people disagree with me, but I'll throw my two cents in.

I would like to suggest that instead of having her ears pierced with a pair of studs in a piercing gun, spend the extra money and take her to a piercing shop. The difference is this: a piercing done in a piercing shop will be done with a very fine, hollow needle. Then as the needle is pulled through, a hoop is fed into the back of it, and then the hoop is closed with a ball. It's called a Bead Captive Ring or BCR. The sharp needle hurts less than the gun, and doesn't punch a hole, it cuts one. Because you can give the hoop a complete rotation, you can keep it cleaner, and it's MUCH less likely to get infected. If your concerned about your little one pulling on the hoop, it can be fitted small enough that it just fits around her lobe. Also, the bead does not come out without a special tool, so there's no chance she'll get it open.

I think most of us had our ears pierced by a girl at the mall, with a piercing gun and turned out fine. But the studs have to be blunt enough to sit in your ears for 6 weeks, so they aren't THAT sharp. You're really just jamming something through the skin. It's rougher than it needs to be.