User Tag List

Smart Canuck
    Trading Score
    203 (100%)

I've been providing home childcare for the last 10 years since my youngest was 2. He is now 12 and here I am, still providing home childcare!

I love what I do and wouldn't change it for anything.

I have a few questions though

I have 5 families I provide care for, each family has 1 child in my care.

Four of the 5 families are employed with a School Board so they get March Break, Christmas Break, Summers etc off.

Also, these four families bring their kids to me on a part time basis. For example, one little guy is here 3 full days a week, another little guy is here 5 HALF days per week.

Up until now I have only charged these families 1 day per week during the summer to hold their spot whether or not their child attends for that day. I won't hold a spot for 2 months without any pay matter what.

I could go on and on!!!

As a provider (or parent) what would you/do you charge or pay for a part timer?

I really think I made a mistake when I took on these part timers and didn't set my rates high enough as well as think through summers etc.

I'd love to hear from others who provide home childcare OR take their child to a home childcare.
    <!-- / message --><!-- edit note -->
    This thread is currently associated with: N/A

Trading Score
    37 (100%)

i wish i had some advice for you as i know nothing about home day care i'm a stay at mom but kudos to you just the thought of all that responsability scares me

Trading Score
    76 (100%)

There is a price structure that works for everyone for this situation.

Charge a minimum monthly rate that allows you to cover yourself. i.e. $325.00 per month.

Then charge per day with a minimum and maximum daily rate i.e. minimum $15.00/day up to a max of $30.00 (use an hourly rate to calculate i.e. $4.00/hr)

Then you track parents hours. If they don't go over the minimum monthy rate, they just pay that. If they go over they pay the minimum plus the differance.