User Tag List

Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Thread: Bankruptcy

Trading Score
    86 (100%)

I've been contemplating it for some time. I have a massive amount of student loans. Of which about 70% could be discharged through bankruptcy (some of it can't as it has been 7yrs since I graduated). I am 4yrs out of university and not that much further ahead and I keep thinking how far ahead am I going to be in 7yrs? I'd have to come up with like a $1000 a month for debt repayment to get that money paid off in 7yrs (plus making payments on the OSAP part that can't be discharged). I keep thinking I am spinning my wheels.

But for 7yrs I am screwed. I won't be able to buy a house (which I desperately want to do, but I've never going to be able to get the downpayment anyways or qualify for a morgage until the debt is gone). I think I might even be messed over if I try to rent a place. Plus would I not be able to have a credit card for 7yrs? It's sorta needed to buy things online, buy airline tickets, ect... Putting my life on hold for 7yrs seems like a long time...but at the same time the debt is putting it on hold too....

As anyone gone through this?
    This thread is currently associated with: N/A
    Last edited by Insane; Tue, Dec 28th, 2010 at 01:21 AM.
    You just proved Signature Advertising works!

Earn FREE money just by searching! Ask me how to get a $5GC using my referral.
    Get $10 off $40 for new customers at well.ca using the code springhascome

Canadian Guru
    Trading Score
    46 (100%)

Have You tried Consumer Proposal ..usually its a better option than bankruptcy , if you are not too far in debt ..its a better solution for the creditors too as they atleast get something .

http://www.hoyes.com/consumer-proposals.htm

Advantages of Consumer Proposals

• You can avoid bankruptcy
    • You negotiate to repay only a portion of your total debts
    • You will not be required to surrender any assets