User Tag List

CaLoonie
    Trading Score
    0 (0%)

Hello everybody

This is my first laptop, I've always had desktops and I was wondering if someone could give me some guidance.

I have a really nice HP all in one printer that I used to use with my now dead and gone desktop. I would like to use it with my laptop so I can print off some coupons. Would I need a special cable to do this, and I suppose I have to install the software onto my laptop from the HP Printer. What do I ask for at the store, what is the name of the cable I'd need, anyone know ? And once I put the cd in to install the printer on the laptop, is that all I need to do? And when I'm not using the printer can I disconnect it from the laptop as I use it in a different room.

Thank you, I really appreciate any guidance as I've never done this before. Printing coupons would be so rewarding. I'd do a little dance when the first one is printing
    This thread is currently associated with: N/A

Trading Score
    37 (100%)

The cable you will need looks like this:

99% of new printers do not come with this so you will either already have one, or you will need to buy one.

For the all in 1 printer setup - start by installing the software and plug in the printer to the computer only when it tells you to do that during the install - just follow the on-screen instructions.

Since you are installing a local printer, it's fine if you unplug it & move your laptop. When you want to print, just plug it back in, your computer will detect it since you've already done the install & it'll be ready to use.

Trading Score
    27 (100%)

Since you said you already used the printer with your desktop, you should definitely have the cable. Unless you through it out with your desktop, that is.

CaLoonie
    Trading Score
    0 (0%)

What is the make and model of the printer? Hopefully it's a newer model with a USB port.

Dave

Junior Canuck
    Trading Score
    5 (100%)