User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Like Tree48Likes

Thread: Beware Shoppers Drug mart prescription charges

Smart Canuck
    Trading Score
    1 (100%)

I have been buying my meds at SDM for many years and I know their dispensing fee is higher than some other places( I have had a drug plan). However the other day I went to purchase an acne wash for my daughter which wasn't covered on my drug plan. When I purchased it last June it cost about $57 so you can imagine I was not impressed to go last weekend to pick up a refill and they asked for $98.00. I insisted they double check the price and they said it was correct. The pharmacist told me it was

$75 for the Rx
    $12 dispensing fee
    $10 upcharge they are allowed to charge

Just noticed this only comes to $97 not $98 but I was so annoyed I refused to buy it.

I bought it at Costco instead( even though I am a non member they allow this) and it cost $72 plus $4.49 dispensing fee for a total of 76.49 which left $21.51 in my pocket. SDM has lost my Rx business-sure it is more conveniently located but to pay 28% more-I call that highway robbery and I would suggest everyone be asking their drugstore for a price breakdown on all their Rx receipts-one of the few consumer areas where we really don't know how much we are paying for each individual charge. I think I may also call the Pharmacists Association in Alberta to see why they are not forced to be transparent with costs to the consumer. For comparison I also called Walmart and they would have charged me $91.00.
    This thread is currently associated with: Costco, Pharmaprix, Shoppers Drug Mart, Walmart
    Last edited by lizzie bargain; Sat, Feb 21st, 2015 at 11:09 AM.

no more door to door! :) walkonby's Avatar
    Trading Score
    24 (100%)

I have not used SDM for prescriptions but great of you to post this info! That is crazy unnecessary gouging!

babies teach us acceptance

CaToonie
    Trading Score
    0 (0%)