• 3 Post By Arjon
  • 3 Post By johnb56789
  • 2 Post By Shwa Girl
  • 2 Post By cath007
  • 1 Post By cath007
  • 1 Post By macw1960
  • 1 Post By EvilTofu
  • 1 Post By Arjon

Thread: Time Spent Couponing/Price Matching, etc.

CaLoonie
    Trading Score
    4 (100%)

As I am a newbie at this I find that I spend quite a bit of time per day, looking for coupons, researching prices, price matching, shopping,etc. Just wondered how much time do most people spend in a day/week at this?

Looking forward to reading the replies.
    This thread is currently associated with: N/A
    macw1960 and Anna Michele like this.

Canadian Guru
    Trading Score
    54 (100%)

I don't spend as much time on it now as I did before. And I feel I save more money now.

I don't get caught up in buying things just because they are on sale/have a coupon. Less is more now.

I try not to buy processed crap for my family. (and that seems to be what the coupons are for) My savings come from price matching fresh good food. Planning our meals from the sale items. Stocking up when stuff is at my "stock up price". And planning ahead! This is big for me. I always look ahead for what is coming up and what we may need.

Trading Score
    13 (100%)

Quote Originally Posted by akajw View Post
    As I am a newbie at this I find that I spend quite a bit of time per day, looking for coupons, researching prices, price matching, shopping,etc. Just wondered how much time do most people spend in a day/week at this?
    You'll probably find that hunting for deals takes less time as you get used to doing it. Either that or you'll spend as much time or more because you decide it's worth doing so.

It's a big game. You can choose to play anywhere from casually to very seriously; just understand that you have to choose your personal balance point for savings vs. time / effort. Reading SC will help, but the more savings you want to squeeze out, the more you have to work at it.