User Tag List

Trading Score
    10 (100%)

Hi-I am ready to pull out my hair I am confused! I am getting a Canon Rebel EOS XSI hopefully but trying to figure out what zoom lens is best for my budget. Can I get a good lens for less than $600? I'm just starting out and not a pro or anything but love photography. I borrowed my Brother in Law's Rebel XSI and he has a 55-250 IS lens and I like it and do I need the IS (image stabilization)? I have read in books that it is reccomended but not all lenses come with it. I used to use a 35mm film SLR camera (before it finally kicked the bucket-it is like 30yrs old!) and it just had a 55-200mm telephoto lens and I was ok with that. The digital stuff is all a little different. There is a Canon 55-250 IS lens that runs about $350 and I am wondering if that is a good lens? I have been using it with my b-in-law's camera and I think it is ok but I would like to get a teleconverter to increase the zoom on it. Future Shop is willing to do a pricematch on a Camera with an extra lens but the lens doesn't have IS and it is the 55-200mm lens and I am thinking that the IS would be good and the little extra zoom might be nice also. Is it better to get the 55-250 or is there much difference between the two? Is there a step up that is under $600 somewhere that I should consider instead? I know a place around here that sells the L series 70-200mm lens for $749 but that is a little expensive for me. Should I be saving up for that one? Is the L series really that much better? Thanks. Any advice would be sooooo much appreciated!
    This thread is currently associated with: Future Shop
    Please take a moment to visit my blog! www.heatherv11.wordpress.com

CaNewbie
    Trading Score
    0 (0%)