User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Like Tree19Likes

Thread: The unfair wheelchair world!

Trading Score
    5 (100%)

I just have to rant about this-- cannot talk about with my DH as he has lived this sort of thing all his life.
    We are going to be needing a new van in the next year or so, and I got all excited because a new vehicle, the MV1 is now being made truly wheelchair accessible. My DH could even sit ( in his wheelchair) in the front passenger seat! It has a ramp that can be manually pulled out! There is really nothing much more in this minivan style van than what you would get in the average minivan. It does not even have a CD player as standard. BUT, the COST. An equivalent minivan brand new would be about $25000 to maybe $30000.
    The MV1 is $55000 to $60000, before PDI and delivery costs. And no funding available. I have been saving like mad for two years and thought I had finally found the perfect van!
    My DH just says that's normal, everything costs more for the disabled, and everyone thinks you get funding (he's not) and treats him like he's getting disability $$$(he's not).
    I feel like a little kid getting coal in my stocking at Christmas.
    sorry for the long rant, but I am just trying to stop feeling so bad about this.
    and I really have to stop looking at the MV1 web site!
    thanks for listening!
    This thread is currently associated with: N/A
    Shwa Girl likes this.

Trading Score
    29 (100%)

Have you looked into getting any source of funding?

Here in SK, the Kinsmen have a foundation people can get help from.

Found this for ON
    http://www.marchofdimes.ca/EN/progra...ndVehicle.aspx

Manufacturer programs
    http://www.savaria.com/products/vans...ding/index.php

tax info

Hope you are able to find some help somewhere, or more info on maybe picking up a used vehicle.
    Shwa Girl and MillieH like this.

Smart Canuck
    Trading Score
    78 (100%)