User Tag List

Trading Score
    15 (100%)

Based on the feedback so far, I though I would try to have a thread about Freebies, like the little thing started about Contests.

Here are some ideas about possible topics:
    * Checking if freebie is legitimate, scams
    * Finding freebies (non-freebie site searching) - in progress
    * What is a valid freebie - age restrictions, US-only offers, hidden fees (deals) - in progress
    * Searching SC for existing posts (reposts) - in progress
    * How to post a new freebie, what to include - in progress
    * How to request/apply for a freebie - in progress
    * Other ideas??

I am a novice in freebie hunting, so I would need help from our more experienced hunters.

Freebie scams“There is no such thing as a free lunch.”

To protect yourself from getting scammed, you first need to understand WHY freebies are given out in the first place.

The company/organization that offers free trials or samples does it because they WANT something from you:
    • Your business – you will buy their product
    • Product/company awareness – promotional item to generate more publicity
    • Market research – sometimes you get asked to fill in a survey
    If a site is offering something for FREE and doesn’t appear to be getting anything out of it, you should be suspicious. The personal info you entered in the freebie request form has been “harvested” and sold to the highest bidder. Chances are, you will never get the freebie, and you will be flooded with spam and junk mail for months afterwards.

Warning signs of a possible scam
    • The web site or URL does not make sense. Meaning, if Olay offers a sample or freebie, the URL should start www.olay.com, or something similar. If it is being offered by www.joesfreebies.com/olay, then the freebie might not be legit.