User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Trading Score
    15 (100%)

Hi SC'ers,

I've just signed up for this amazing forum tonight, will post an intro perhaps tomorrow. Just very quickly, I've been reading this forum for a few weeks now, initially out of curiosity from watching TLC's Extreme Couponing show (like most newbies I'm sure ), and then realized just how valuable coupons could be for saving money on the things I buy every day.

I have a question about SDM and the SmartSource tearpad coupons. I went to my local SDM today to purchase the Sunlight laundry detergent for the Sun. and Mon. price of $3.99, and was planning to use one coupon per bottle (I'm still an extreme newb and not even thinking about stacking yet, just finding the best deals and then using coupons to bring the prices down further).

While I was hunting the aisles, I found the $2 Dove WUB2 coupon, and decided to buy 2 bottles of shampoo as well.

When I got to the cash register, the cashier refused to let me use ANY of my coupons, saying they had the "wrong address," on them, and that particular store will not deal with coupons having that address. I was only going to use the one Dove coupon plus 2 Sunlight ones, one of which was from a tearpad found at Safeway, and the other was from Save.ca.

I was so shocked that I didn't know what to say (and didn't seem like anything anyone had posted having problems with here on SC)! And unfortunately, not having the biggest self esteem in the world, I didn't even think to ask for a manager to verify what I was being told (I was also needing to leave to make it to my bootcamp class on time). I did try to call the store to speak with a manager later, but only ended up with a manager's voicemail (it was about 8:15pm by this time), and so just gave up for the evening, deciding instead to ask you, oh wise SC'ers if anyone has heard of this before? I mean why would a store even display tearpad coupons if they're not going to accept them at the till?!?!