User Tag List

CaNewbie
    Trading Score
    0 (0%)

Hey, this is my first time in tea room. I wasn't sure where to post this.

I came accross an article on the chemicals in Bounce sheets as was amazed at how many were in them. I don't know what I thought they were made of but sheepily have to admit never thought of finding out.

In the article it mentioned using white vinegar in the washer for fabric sofener and static cling. Was iffy on it thinking they would come out smelling like vinegar and didn't really think it would work.

I did however try it and I'm so amazed! I don't usually use fabric softened just Bounce. I added what the article called for 1 cup of white vinegar in the fabric softener slot. My clothes still smell good. They are softer and no static cling. The article aslo mentioned the vinegar helps prevent mildew in the washer.

Win win in my book. White vinegar is so much cheaper than Bounce that I'm saving money. Just wanted to pass along this to anyone else who might want to give it a try.
    This thread is currently associated with: N/A

Trading Score
    65 (100%)

Thanks. Must try this.

Banned
    Trading Score
    6 (100%)

I use vinegar all the time. Not only as a fabric softener, but it's great for getting out bad smells. I have an older cat who always pees our rugs (she's healthy, she just has attitude since we don't let her out anymore) and the only thing that gets the smell out is vinegar.

I also use it as a cleaner for our toilets, kettle, bathtub, etc.

Kings County Coupon Queen sarah_300c's Avatar
    Trading Score
    693 (100%)

Fabric Softener is supposed to be one of the most toxic chemicals in a family home. I have tried using liquid fabric softener before but I didn't notice a difference other than the clothes smell pretty nice.