User Tag List

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Like Tree59Likes

Thread: Secretly Hiring A House Cleaner

Smart Canuck
    Trading Score
    5 (100%)

I think rates vary a great deal. Sometimes you really do "get what you pay for". My parents have someone come to their apartment once a week for 3 hours to clean, as they are in poor health and cannot manage it themselves. She has always found wonderful women to help her clean, through word of mouth. Their rates have ranged from $18-25/hour (this is in Halifax). When I was at a tea shop there, I noticed an ad that was posted. The woman offered cleaning services and house sitting. She charged $30/hr. If she was good at what she did and reliable, I am sure she had no problem getting work in South End Halifax, even at those rates.

To be perfectly honest, if I didn't have a problem with my back, I would seriously consider cleaning for a living. You could be kept going 24/7.
    matrix82 likes this.

Senior Canuck
    Trading Score
    40 (100%)

I hire someone to clean my home whenever I am having a party. I don't mind doing the day to day cleaning since I'm at home, but when we're having a party with lot's of people, I prefer someone else to come in and do it. I find it takes some of the pressure off of me because they clean the windows, bathroom, vacuum, etc. This helps me to do some of the decorating and de-cluttering. I find if I have them come in the day before the party that means I can go out and get the groceries and whatnot.
    K8's Fate likes this.

Trading Score
    0 (0%)

same here... i'm too cheap to hire a cleaner, rather do it myself and get the job done right!
    PurpleBunny89 likes this.
    You can't change other people. You can only change yourself"
    - H. H. Getter

when we change our attitude, we change our lives

Trading Score
    3 (100%)