User Tag List

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Like Tree104Likes

Thread: Photo of man about to die - NY Post Cover

Smart Canuck
    Trading Score
    0 (0%)

The photos of people jumping from the towers were among the photos I was thinking of when I wrote earlier that above image is one of the most disturbing pictures I've ever seen. I'll never be able to erase them from my mind. It must have been horrible to have been there in person!
    If the photographer in this case had come out and said, "I'm a news photographer. Taking pictures of things as they happen is what I do," I would still have disagreed with the decision to print the photo on the front page, but I would have had a whole lot more respect for the guy than I do now.
    There's an area of the brain called the hypothalamus which causes involuntary responses to fear. Some people are blessed with brains that cause them to snap into action (fight or flight). They make great police officers and EMTs. But many more people completely freeze when they encounter danger. Unfortunately you don't get to choose how your body will react. Most of the people who read a story and ask why someone didn't do something have never been in a real emergency.

Trading Score
    0 (0%)

There's an area of the brain called the hypothalamus which causes involuntary responses to fear. Some people are blessed with brains that cause them to snap into action (fight or flight).
    Great post!

I think training plays a role to. When you have played out a certain scenario and train for it, your mind just snaps into action.
    Patty Smyth, walkonby and i_forget like this.

Smart Canuck
    Trading Score
    0 (0%)

Quote Originally Posted by vesper View Post
    Great post!

I think training plays a role to. When you have played out a certain scenario and train for it, your mind just snaps into action.