Trading Score
    61 (100%)

Greetings folks:

We have an old computer that we're about to dispose of, and we want to
    wipe the hard drive before we take it down to the electronics
    recycling depot.

I know a simple format C is not generally recognized as the way to go,
    as things are recoverable afterwards. Any suggestions on how to
    completely wipe it, simply and inexpensively? I've never done this before!

Thanks!

Z
    This thread is currently associated with: N/A

orv
    Female
    Trading Score
    77 (100%)

if your just bringing it to a recycle depot for computers, i would say unless you have extremely confidential information on your hard drive, a plane old reformat should be fine. I dont think the people at the recycle depot will try and recover any information if its been wiped. and if its older than a P3 odds are it will go in a junk pile and they wont even attempt to recycle/fix it. once a computer is reformatted, its not very easy to recover any info that was on it before(it wipes the drive clean,) hope this helps, if your really worried.. just pop the hard drive out itself and keep it(or dispose of it, its not very big) I hope this helps =)
    Niagara Falls for New years!!! YIPPY!!!!!

Trading Score
    103 (100%)

if u want to be really secure just take out the hard drive and break it.. a hammer works best cant get any information off of a broken hard drive..lol

we actualy take ours appart and scratch the heck out of every little peice thats in it and then break them (if u take it apart, just make sure u dont get ur skin cought between the magnets.. they are very powerful)

Trading Score
    99 (100%)

Great post because we were thinking of doing the same thing! We have 3 computers sitting in our garage that need to be disposed of. How would you find a recycling depot in your city though? I will go the smashing route with our hard drives, will help with the stress anyways

Trading Score
    9 (100%)