User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Like Tree44Likes

Thread: Getting work in another country. How to do this?

Canadian Guru
    Trading Score
    159 (100%)

Living in another country is something I've dreamed of all my life and I feel like time to do this is running out before we have a family. I am serious about this. I spent my whole life learning 5 languages in hopes that this would happen one day. All I am asking for is a few months to a year. But I can't get work abroad, let alone in Canada. Seems like a lot of places just ignore my applications and hire people who are less qualified than me, just because they are local. If there are jobs at all.

Has anyone succeeded in working abroad, even temporarily? I am a writer and have an English teaching certificate. I look for work every few months in Canada because I am constantly laid off due to the print industry, which keeps bleeding money. DH's condition to move is that I have a job lined up in the new country before we leave, but it looks like that will never happen.

He thinks its easy because he was offered a job fresh out of school in the US where he worked for 2 years. He has never applied for a job in his life, he has always been offered these jobs out of nowhere. He has a Phd so is very specialized and employers can justify giving him Visas because there literally isn't an American who can do things in his field. But that won't happen to me. I was in Toronto for 2 years trying to get work there. Never happened. Employers consistently told me that they wanted to see me commit to moving there before they hire. But we can't do this now because of $$.

I am looking into a working holiday visa in Australia. DH only speaks English so I picked there because it would be easy for him to communicate, and I need the sunshine. I went there 3 years ago and it is my dream to go back. But I have to apply before I turn 31. That happens in July .