• 2 Post By Midnightly
  • 2 Post By FrugalNotCheap75
  • 2 Post By GeorgiaK
  • 2 Post By Newfiegirl
  • 3 Post By Chantel
  • 4 Post By Shwa Girl
  • 3 Post By GeorgiaK
  • 1 Post By TLatesummer

Thread: What is your stockpiling strategy?

Senior Canuck
    Trading Score
    19 (100%)

I am new to couponing, and have amassed a modest stockpile. Since my son recently moved out to go to university in another city, much of my stockpile went to him (especially food and household cleaning products). However, I am left with many personal care products that he doesn't use. Initially, I thought that I would continue this stockpile and provide it to a shelter in Toronto around Christmas. Now I'm thinking -- why wait? I'm sure the shelter can use the items now. So my questions to you are:

1. If charities, family, friends, etc benefit from your stockpile, do you amass large quantities or wait for Christmas (or another occasion), or do you share more regularly throughout the year?

2. When do you use your coupons, if you already have a healthy stockpile of this item? When a coupon allows you to get an item for free or overage, then I understand using it immediately. But if using the coupon still requires OOP, is it wise to spend this $ now, when you have this item stockpiled at home? Or, is the wiser choice to save your $ now and spend it much later when you might get a better deal or your stockpile for this item is nearing depletion?

I'm not trying to cause controversy with these questions -- just generate discussion and help me to formulate my personal stockpiling strategy.

Thanks for your input.
    This thread is currently associated with: N/A
    Shwa Girl likes this.

Smart Canuck
    Trading Score
    49 (100%)