• 1 Post By addy25
  • 1 Post By bmaven
  • 1 Post By Lynn49
  • 2 Post By anisa

Thread: Birthday cakes for kids

CaToonie
    Trading Score
    3 (100%)

Where do you get your birthday cakes from for your kids parties, does it have a design on it or is it just the plain cake with their names on it. Are there any cheap places that do nice designs?

Thanks
    This thread is currently associated with: Cake Beauty

Trading Score
    29 (100%)

I always made my son's birthday cakes. I'm no pro, but I'd find something to decorate or shape it like something he was into that particular year - like for when he was young. Later, I'd just make whatever his fave cake was at that time.

As for bought cakes, depends what stores in your city are like. I know here, Safeway makes yummy cakes - when I need a sheet cake or a two layer that's where I'd go - here they make a great black forest, lemon, german chocolate...
    I've also had Costco cakes, they are good.
    ninna, lll111 and addy25 like this.

Trading Score
    24 (100%)

I make home made ones when I can and the design is by request of the birthday girl.

I've made rainbows and kitty cats, rabbits and puppies.

If you're not crafty or don't have a lot of time, Costco is always a good choice. They have tasty selections and they always look visually appealing as well. Their carrot cake, for example (although monstrously large) has carrots made of icing on each piece.
    lll111 and addy25 like this.
    "Be yourself. Everyone else is already taken." Oscar Widle

Trading Score
    24 (100%)

ooh.. I forgot to add....Dairy Queen does make lovely ice cream cakes as well. They aren't cheap (compared to regular cake cakes) but most kids don't turn down an ice cream cake whereas with regular cakes, I find it hit or miss if kids will eat them or not.