User Tag List

Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Like Tree290Likes

Thread: Anyone else find it hard to spend $170, $85 or even $60?

Trading Score
    13 (100%)

Since I started learning how to work the Optimum program, my wife and I have pretty quickly gone past 95k points in total. The thing is... we managed to do so even though we basically never spend more than $30 except to take advantage of a wus $30 offer, and just getting to $30 has often required buying a couple of stock-up items. As a result, we now have very little left to stock up on anymore.

Accordingly, it also looks like it will be difficult to redeem more than 22k points at a time without buying things we normally don't. I realize that we can use some or all of the points to "treat" ourselves to things we don't normally buy. So, I'm curious to know how other people redeem your points. Are you able to use most of them for things you normally buy, or do you end up mostly using your points on treating yourself?
    This thread is currently associated with: Pharmaprix, Shoppers Drug Mart

Trading Score
    200 (100%)

I am one of those who do not use points for "treating" myself.

I accumulate points buying staples (milk, bread, eggs, TP, etc) and also redeem them on those same items.
    I tend to not hold onto points for too long, even though it's nice to have 95,000 to spend, you may end up grabbing extras to get to your $170 mark, and those extras you would not have normally spent money on to start off with, so the extra value isn't really extra value (IMO).

What I do buy to make up the difference is simple little treats like cookies, lunch snacks, frozen fruit or veg, frozen pizzas or extra bags of chips, things you would end up buying at some point anyway.

University Couponer
    Trading Score
    13 (100%)