Like Tree62Likes

Thread: QotD: 05 Mar 2015: Lending your stuff to others

Trading Score
    4 (100%)

Name:  03-05-2015.jpg
Views: 215
Size:  67.0 KB
    This thread is currently associated with: N/A
    Last edited by danger_dan; Fri, Mar 6th, 2015 at 06:57 AM.
    Andit, Shwa Girl, ticul and 2 others like this.
    DANGER

Trading Score
    3 (100%)

The only things I've ever lent to others were books, and unfortunately some never made it back to me. I'd never lend money, so don't even ask.....

Smart Canuck
    Trading Score
    5 (100%)

I was brought up with the adage, "Neither a borrower nor a lender be". Lending things can create a precedent for being used and your belongings taken or damaged, and asking to borrow (from my family's persective) is a form of imposing on other people. I understand that this perspective seems odd to many people. What can I say? My background is WASPy. I avoid lending things (except to very good friends), and I honestly can't remember the last time I borrowed something. Even when I borrow from the library, I feel edgy until I have returned what I have taken out! *L*

The few times I have lent things (usually books, some of them expensive or out-of-print), they have either been returned with folded pages and with stains/damage, or I have had to repeatedly ask (badger) the person to have my things back. It boggles my mind that people don't treat borrowed property with much more care than they treat their own belongings. I had a dorm room-mate my first year in university who would just "borrow" things without asking - everything from body lotion to my word processor. Just unreal to me.

One of the positive exceptions to this is a friend of my DH's who regularly borrows the whippersnipper. He always returns it promptly, and if it's low on gas when he's finished, he tops it up, which is really considerate.
    Andit, Natalka, Tweets77 and 4 others like this.

Trading Score
    726 (100%)