User Tag List

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Like Tree65Likes

Thread: A year with no salary :( Advice?

Trading Score
    85 (100%)

For those of you who do not know, I am a full-time student at McGill University in Montreal. I'm in the Education program to become an ESL (English as a second language) teacher. Normally, to get a Bachelor degree it takes 3 years. To become a teacher it takes 4 (and yet we still get crappy salary).

I live with my boyfriend and a cat in a 2 bedroom apartment. He pays the rent, heating/gas, cable/internet & gas/maintenance for the car. I pay the car (it's under my name since I had it before we met), groceries and necessities (i.e. clothing and hygiene products). It doesn't seem fair...I know. But I do have to pay my tuition and books, as well as bus pass, etc. And I only work 20 hours a week because I'm doing a full load of 5 classes.

Here is the dilemma: starting in the spring of 2013, and continuing until summer of 2014, I will be doing 3 internships BACK-TO-BACK. That's a year and some of NO PAY. I will be working in a school...8:30am-4PM & doing corrections/lesson planning/etc Monday to Friday. Yes. It's a full-time job with no salary.

I will be working full-time (secretarial work @ min pay) during the summer after my Spring internship, to save as much as I can, and I know that I will be applying for loans and bursaries...but the final point is: I'm FREAKING out about how we are going to live. My boyfriend does not make enough to support us both. And no, we can't get a cheaper appartment...we've considered this.