User Tag List

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
    Trading Score
    29 (100%)

Zonny, condolences upon your loss - and I must say you have explained things well...

"I suspect that the reaction at DH's work is largely because of our age. DH is only 39, rather young to be losing a parent (he's the baby). So maybe people his age just haven't been through this before, maybe they just don't know what to say, or afraid that they will say the wrong thing, so they don't say anything.
    I don't know. I'm new to this myself, I haven't been through this before either, I'm a year younger than he is. But as I go through this with DH, I realize that saying nothing can be hurtful, I think much more so than saying what you think is the wrong thing I think." (I just wanted to quote a part....)

- I went through this as my dad died when I was 26, my mom when I was 35. Yes, some of my peers didn't know what to say/do - others maybe from more 'old fashioned' or traditional homes, did - they sent a card, phoned, came over, sent food, sent flowers - depending on the relationship with me, how close a friend, or co-workers. I'm the fifth of six kids, so there were differences in how our friends and co-workers dealt with things.
    I totally agree that saying/writing something is definitely better than nothing - any words at all. Yes, it can be awkward, but just for someone to say/write "I'm so sorry" is enough!
    Big hug for you, and you pass one along to your husband...

Trading Score
    569 (100%)

So sorry for you loss.Often times I can not bring myself to say anything but I always give a big hug.Take Care.
    Want free Christmas shopping???
    get giftcards to Amazon!!

Trading Score
    0 (0%)

hi zonny:
    i'm so sorry to hear/see of your father in laws death,,,,but,,,,,,,,
    i personally don't think the management at either of your work places, handled
    the passing of your father in law, too well.