User Tag List

Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 2 3 4
Like Tree104Likes

Thread: The Dreaded Computer Virus Scam Call

Trading Score
    1 (100%)

I don't know if this is the same one, but I've had someone call me, telling me about issues with viruses (but he didn't use the word virus, I forget what it was).

I'm a certified IT technician, so I was kind of curious as to what he was going to say. He went on to tell me how this virus would ruin my computer and corrupt my motherboard. I think I had him explain for 10 minutes how terrible this virus was, and exactly how it was corrupting my motherboard.
    I asked him if he was sure about what he was talking about. Then I told him I was an IT technician, and if he was still sure he wanted to keep telling me about how I needed to protect my motherboard (seriously, this guy went on and on about it...he was trying to scare me so bad about it). He swore at me for wasting his time and hung up.

Had a good chuckle about it.

Trading Score
    37 (100%)

lol i get this call all the time soo annoying! it is just sad that how no matter how much media there is on this there will always be somone scammed by this.

Frosh Canuck
    Trading Score
    84 (100%)

The last two times I got calls were from the computer virus people, and the air duct cleaning (telling them I had baseboards didn't stop them calling). I went all evangelical on them and proceeded to spread the "Good Word". Unfortunately, I had my mom and husband in the background in stitches as I went on and I couldn't hold it together any longer. I ended up laughing myself and just hung up on the guy. Needless to say, I haven't had a call in over a week.

I have a friend who uses racism to tell them off. She is totally not racist, the sweetest girl really, but boy, some of the stuff that comes flying out her mouth... She says it works though and they don't call her back.
    GoddessDigi likes this.

Trading Score
    130 (96%)

I LOVE when these morons call!