User Tag List

Page 1 of 8 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Like Tree679Likes

Thread: Is Couponing Killing Us?

Trading Score
    3 (100%)

I've been couponing hard core for about 3 years now. While I can't deny the absolutely incredible deals we get, I also can't deny that I have never felt so poorly health-wise in my life. My health and weight took a turn for the worse shortly after I started building my stockpile and it's just been not great ever since. Extra weight, lethargic, various ailments, being sick all the time. My whole family, not just me. So I take a close look at my stockpile and it's all food in packages (hence, being able to stockpile it, it won't rot). Taco kits, Hamburger Helper, KD, Cookies, etc. The list goes on and on. You don't even want to know what I've been packing in my family's lunch kits, all packaged stuff. I've bought a lot of stuff just because it's free or almost free. How about that new App I've been using "Checkout 51"? Great coupons, right? Wrong. All packaged foods, chemical drink mixes. Aside from the milk, there is nothing healthy. Why can't we have more coupons for natural, healthy products, produce, meats, etc?

Now I am making a big effort to pull away from couponing. Already I am noticing a huge difference. Eating well, feeling well. I look at the new coupons being offered on Save.ca or Websaver and I honestly can't even think about feeding that stuff to my family (aside from eggs!). Now instead of looking for coupon matches, I look for produce deals and deals on fish and lean meats (thanks, FallenPixels!). I don't open boxed foods any more, I get in the kitchen and cook. It really has opened my eyes to what I have been doing to us these past few years.